Diary Mees

Diary Mees – Culture Plus programma

Introduction
Hello! My name is Mees and I am currently living in Guiyang, China. I am 17 years old and I graduated from high school last summer. After my graduation I decided to take a gap year because I didn’t want to start my next study immediately.

I am living with a very lovable family. The family consists of dad, mom, son Jimmy (10) en daughter Maria (2). Grandpa and grandma are also living with the family. In this diary I would like to share my experience in China. Have fun reading!

Family  Starbucks
Wednesday
I bought a drink at Starbucks before I started my 2 hour long journey to the university. It was a pleasant day and I laughed a lot in class. After school I helped Jimmy with his English homework. It is quite hard for him. Pronunciation and writing is complicated.

Thursday
I didn’t go to Chinese class today, instead I went to the kindergarten with Maria. After that we had a great lunch at a steakhouse. In the afternoon I picked Jimmy up from school and played badminton with the whole family.

Friday
Friday is my day off. I went out with my friends in the evening. It was so much fun! I got back at home at 7 am and only slept for 2 hours, but it was definitely worth it!

Saturday
We are going to the hometown of my host mom this weekend. She is from a poor village in the mountains. It is interesting to see China from another perspective. It surprised me that I experienced a culture shock while staying in the same country. There was a girl with a beautiful princess dress en next to her another girl carrying her little brother on her back.

Hometown
Sunday
This was the weirdest day of my life. I carried a snake around my neck and ate it the same evening. We also climbed some mountains with the boys. I drank a beer with the family members. It was a crazy experience! Oh right, there was also a giant spider in the toilet…

Snake  Cheers
Monday
Not much happened today. We drove back home and I enjoyed a shower. There was no shower in the village we went yesterday. It’s also nice to sleep in my own bed again.

Tuesday
We had a barbecue with friends and family in the afternoon. It’s quite difficult to eat chicken wings with chopsticks. After the barbecue we watched ‘Transformers’ and ‘Harry Potter’ in our home cinema. I also Facetimed with my friends and sent WhatsApp messages to my friends in the Netherlands. Always good to talk with my friends.

China Plus uses cookies for both functional and marketing purposes by China Plus and third parties. Continued use of this website is an implicit agreement to the usage of these cookies. For more information, see our privacy policy
OK